Recipe Day- Creamy White Chili – from Child Grower A. Woz

mtolivegraduationgirlfeetI take no credit at all for this absolutely delicious recipe.

I am simply passing it along.

Today, someone asked me for a good chicken chili recipe and I offered to share this one.  I have to admit, posting recipes might be something you will find more often on my blog.

You should know, that I believe that when I meet people, I take a little bit of them away with me.  For some, a recipe will be one of the few things that connects me with them for years and years.

Admit it- we lead busy lives. We pursue many goals. We get sidetracked from friends and acquaintances over a lifetime. 

I do not have the ability to keep up with all the wonderful people that I meet, but I think of them often when I’m cooking.  A recipe, cooked at home for my family or for a book club night or shared just like this, is a way to remember all the best parts of those friendships and a way of unwrapping the gifts they may not have even known they gave.

This chicken chili recipe was given to me by a woman who had a daughter in the same preschool class as my middle girl.  She brought it to a potluck.  I was new to the pre-school community and I didn’t know many of the families but this recipe helped me meet someone who taught me that women can balance their faith and retain a sense of style and independence.

Before I met this creamy chili, I had never imagined bringing a crock of soup to share at a potluck but it made complete sense that evening. This is an easy recipe to put together and whether it is served out of cups with a spoon at a gathering or served at home with a warm crusty bread on the side, it is one that you will want to make over and over. 

Spring is around the corner, but until then, rainy, dreary, wind-blown days serve only one purpose- they give the excuse to make and eat one last meal of soup!

Thank you to Nancy J.  for this recipe and for your quiet acceptance and gratitude that inspires me when I hear you talking about the graces that shape your life. I love your very realistic view of mothering, your sense of humor and your ability to make time for yourself and your hubby in this busy world we share with such magical children. You – and your chili- are an inspiration.

Creamy White Chili (handwritten on a recipe card that says, Live Simply)

1 lb. boneless, skinless Chicken breast, cut into 1/2 in cubes

1 med. Onion, chopped

1 1/2 tsp Garlic powder

1 Tbsp Vegetable oil

2 cans (15.5 oz each) great Northern Beans, rinsed and drained.

1 can (14 1/2 oz) Chicken broth

2 cans (4 oz each) chopped Green Chilies

1 tsp. Salt

1 tsp gr. Cumin

1 tsp dried Oregano

1/2 tsp Pepper

1/4 tsp Cayenne Pepper

1 c. (8 oz) Sour Cream

1/2 c. Whipping Cream

In a large saucepan, saute chicken, onion and garlic powder in oil until chicken is no longer pink.  Add beans, broth, chilies and seasonings.  Bring to a boil. Reduce heat, simmer uncovered for 30 mins.  Remove from the heat, stir in sour cream and cream.  Serve immediately and think of Nancy J.

Yield 7 servings.

###  posted by Child Grower Annita Woz.

2 Responses

  1. thank you anita
    =) jewel

  2. thanks annita, I’ll give it a try.

Leave a Reply

